Accreditation is a process designed to ensure that education provided by institutions of higher education meets acceptable levels of quality. Accreditation for schools of social work is provided by the Council on Social Work Education (CSWE), based on Educational Policies and Accreditation Standards (EPAS) that specify eligibility criteria including program mission and goals, explicit curriculum, implicit curriculum (learning environment), and assessment.

The Suzanne Dworak-Peck School of Social Work was first accredited in 1922 by the Association of Training Schools for Professional Social Workers (later the American Association of Schools of Social Work), a precursor of the Council on Social Work Education (CSWE). Since that time, the school has been continuously reaffirmed for accreditation with the exception of one period of conditional status from November, 1993 to November, 1994.

Programs are scheduled for reaffirmation of accreditation every eight years, at which time the school community engages in a process of examining and analyzing where the program is currently and where it would like to go. The self-study document created in 2017 and posted here describes the current state and future direction of the program.